×

You're using an outdated browser

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest version.

Manual

Workflow operation not valid

Roman Serazhiev

Roman Serazhiev Last update: Jan 3, 2019

Symptoms

When performing a workflow transition, either by moving the issue between the columns on a JIRA Agile Board (In this case a Workflow Action Invalid error is thrown), or by clicking the transition on the view issue screen, the issue does not get synchronized and appears in the troubleshooting section with the category 'workflow operation not valid' and a message containing, e.g. 'It seems that you have tried to perform a workflow operation (Name of the transition) that is not valid for the current state of this issue (ABC-5679)'.

Cause

There are two known possible causes for this problem:

  • Cause A: A certain transition in the workflow is corrupted. The cause of this corruption is unknown
  • Cause B: A condition is configured for this transition and is not fulfilled

Find out the cause

If you got the Workflow Action Invalid error thrown when moving the issue between the columns of a JIRA Agile Board, it's cause A.

If you did not get this error, it's cause B.

Resolution

Perform the following steps based on the cause of the problem.

Cause A

  1. If the transition is corrupted follow the steps explained here.
  • ... please perform a retry if you have only changed your JIRA configuration on the receiver project.
  • ... please perform a resync if you have done changes on the sender project.

Cause B

  1. Delete the condition.
    1. go to the project administration page of the project where the transition failed
    2. click on Workflows
    3. edit the workflow for the corresponding issue type and look for the failing transition
    4. click on it and see if there are any Conditions
    5. click Conditions
    6. delete the condition that prevents the synchronization user from executing the transition.
  2. Apply other steps in order to fulfill the condition. e.g. If the transition requires a label called "worked on" set the label.
  3. If the transition is restricted to a specific usergroup, add the synchronization user to that group so he can perform the transition.
    1. go to the JIRA administration page
    2. click on User management
    3. search for the synchronization user
    4. in the Actions column, click ••• and add him to the desired usergroup
  • ... please perform a retry if you have only changed your JIRA configuration on the receiver project.
  • ... please perform a resync if you have done changes on the sender project.




2x3.9
We use cookies to create a secure and effective browsing experience for our website visitors and to understand how you use our site (i.e. Google Analytics). For more information: click here.
Ok