You can manually define a list of multiple issues to be synchronized by importing a synchronization information file to Backbone.

This is especially helpful, for example, if you want to migrate multiple issue synchronizations to Backbone after you have been using a different synchronization solution, or have been syncing manually.

There are two options:

  • Pair existing issues synced with Backbone before: import a file with synchronized issues from another synchronization (e.g. for migrating projects).
  • Manually pair existing issues: upload a file to manually determine which issues should be synchronized. 

Create the synchronization information file

Firstly you must create the synchronization information file. You will need a JSON file for the first option and a CSV file for the second. Keep in mind that a maximum of a 1000 issues can be paired at the same time. 

Pair existing issues synced with Backbone before

The JSON file can be created in the Synchronization detail view by clicking on the three dot icon in the top-right of the screen > Download synchronized issues. Keep in mind that the setup of the synchronization are the same for both.

Manually pair existing issues

This file must be in CSV format, and must contain two columns separated by commas. The first column contains the issue keys of the first project, and the second column contains the issue keys of the second project.

When you are finished, the file should look something like this:

AG-1433,AN-527
AG-1434,AN-528
AG-1435,AN-529
AG-1436,AN-530
AG-1437,AN-531 
CODE

Import the synchronization information file to Backbone

To import the synchronization information file, you first have to stop your synchronization by navigating to Project settings > Issue Synchronization > click the name of the desired synchronization in the Name column > click the three dot icon in the top-right of the screen > Stop.

Now the synchronization is stopped, click the three dot icon > Pair existing issues, and then import your CSV or JSON file using the dialog. Now you can restart your configuration.

For a distributed configuration, the file needs to be uploaded on both the Master and the Slave side.