The main entry point of the Backbone UI is the synchronization overview which shows you a list of all existing synchronizations. You can find it either on a project level or a global level. Both screens offer the same set of actions you can do with your synchronizations.

Project synchronizations overview 

Select Project settings > Issue Synchronization > ••• to manage your synchronizations for a single project:

Jira instance synchronizations overview 

If you have Jira admin permissions, select Jira administration > Add-ons > Backbone Issue Sync > Synchronizations > ••• to manage all your synchronizations for the whole Jira instance:

Status

Synchronizations in Backbone can have the following status:

RUNNING

The synchronization is up and running. Backbone synchronizes issue updates according to the configuration.

STOPPED

The synchronization is stopped. No issue updates are synchronized.

RESTART REQUIRED

Happens in rare cases, a stop and start of the synchronization should help.

HANDSHAKE

The synchronization (with a distributed configuration) is not yet fully created. Either the slave synchronization still needs to be created or Backbone performs its initial connection test at the moment. More details in creating a synchronization.

WAITING FOR SLAVE

A synchronization (with a distributed master configuration) is waiting for the slave configuration to adapt to the latest configuration of the master synchronization.

UPDATE REQUIRED

A synchronization (with a distributed slave configuration) needs to be updated to the latest configuration changes of the master synchronization.


Actions 

Backbone has a range of functionality for managing synchronizations:

  • Start/stop: enable or disable Backbone from syncing issues and issue data
  • Edit: allows you to edit the name and description of a synchronization
  • Configure: allows you to define what issue data gets synchronized between instances
  • Troubleshoot: allows you to Analyze & Fix Errors
  • Delete: allows you to permanently delete your synchronization. If the synchronization is not stopped, it will automatically be stopped. 

If you're here for the first time, you should start with creating a new synchronization.