This is the documentation for an older version of Scroll Versions. Here you can view the most up-to-date version of Scroll Versions.

Publishing to another Confluence system

The Scroll Remote Publishing Endpoint allows you to make content from another Confluence instance available on your public Confluence system. With this add-on, Scroll Versions documentation administrators who manage versioned content, variants, and localizations can now easily publish and update content on another Confluence system.

All content is managed centrally in your secured Confluence environment with Scroll Versions. You can either publish to a new or to an existing space in another Confluence system and make your content available on your public Confluence instance. Please have a look at the key features page for further details.

Before you begin: Before you publish a version to another Confluence system:

  • You must log in with Doc-Admin permissions.
  • An application link to the remote Confluence system must be configured.
    (info) To setup an application link between the two Confluence systems, Trusted Applications or 2-Legged OAuth authentication is supported. For using 2-Legged OAuth authentication the two system must have the same user base (User ID and password must be the same on both systems). This setup is recommended if you have setup an active directory to manage your users. In case you do not have an active directory you can use the Trusted Applications authentication. With this setup only the User ID must match on both system and the system trusts the other system that the user was successfully authenticated. In case the private Confluence can not reach from the remote system due to restrictions of the network it is also possible to configure just a outgoing connection in combination with a technical user (the technical user needs to be defined in the Basic Access Tab and only needs a real user account on the remote system).  
    See Configuring Authentication for an Application Link for further information about these authentication types.
  • The Scroll Remote Publishing Endpoint must be installed on the remote system.
  • Your User ID must be the same on both Confluence systems.
  • You must have 'Create space permissions' on the remote system.

To publish a version to a remote Confluence system:

  1. Open the space where you want to publish a version.
  2. Click Browse > Scroll Content Management or click Manage / Publish in the Working Version dropdown.
    The Scroll Content Management Dashboard is displayed.
  3. Click Publish.
    The Publish Content screen is displayed.
  4. Click to a new space or to an existing space.
    The corresponding publish screen is displayed.
  5. Select the Confluence system you want to publish to.
    (info) All configured Confluence application links are displayed.
  6. Enter the Space key of the existing space or the Space name and Space key of the new space.
  7. You have several options to customize the publication:
    • Version dropdown – Select a version to export.
      (info) Per default the initial version is selected.
    • Variant dropdown – Select a variant to export.
      (info) Per default no variant is selected and all pages are exported.
    • Language dropdown – Select a language to export. (Only available if Scroll Translations is installed and activated).
      (info) Per default All Languages is selected and all languages are exported (they are not visible as long as you do not activate Scroll Translations in the new space).
    • Keep permalinks check box – Select this check box to keep the permalink of the original language in the existing space. (Only available if Scroll Translations is installed and activated).
      (info) When you select this check box, the Confluence page title in the existing space will be the one from the original language. When you do not select the check box, the title of the published language is used.
      (warning) When changing the selection of this check box, all pages will be renamed.
    • Copy personal labels – Select this check box to copy the space and the personal labels of all pages to the new space.
    • Keep Authors and dates – Select this check box to use the original creation dates, and modification dates for the new space. The author will be always the name of the user performing the publish.
    • Remove Attachments check box – Select this check box to remove historical and deleted versions of attachments. Only the latest versions of attachments are published.
    • Only pages in workflow status "Complete" check box – Select this check box to publish only pages in status "Complete".
      • Publish child pages in the workflow status "Complete" check box – Select this check box to publish all child pages in workflow status "Complete", disregarding the status of their parent page.
        (info) This check box can only be selected if the check box "Only pages in workflow status "Complete"" is selected.
        (info) Please have a look at the page Concept Information about Publish Complete for further details.
    •  Publish hierarchy check box – Select this check box to publish the pages in the same hierarchy to your target space.
      (info) When selecting this check box, the hierarchy in the target space might get changed.
    • Send Notification check box – Deactivate this checkbox to not send email notifications to the watchers.
      (info) If a mail server is properly set up on the remote Confluence system, all watchers of the target space get a notification for every changed page.
  8. Click Preview.
    (info) If the Workflow Management  is activated, and there are pages not in page status 'Complete', the message "There are x pages that are published, but are still not in workflow state 'Completed'" is displayed.
    (info) If there are pages with the same page title, but different page IDs, messages regarding conflicting page titles are displayed.
  9. Click Close.
    The space is displayed in a tree-view. If you click a specific page, the page is displayed in a new tab in your browser.
  10. You have the opportunity to customize the viewed details:
    • Expand all – All pages in the space are displayed.
    • Collapse all – Only the home page of the space is displayed.
    • Hide Complete – All pages with status 'Complete' are hidden.
    • Hide Added – All pages added in the working version are hidden. 
    • Hide Removed – All pages removed in the working version are hidden. 
    • Hide Unchanged – All pages with no changes in the working version are hidden. 
    • Tree – The pages are displayed hierarchical in a tree-view. 
    • List – The pages are displayed in a list.
      (info)Expand all and Collapse all are greyed-out in the list view.
    • [xy] WARNINGS [xy] MESSAGES Show – The preview message with all pages not in status 'Complete' and all pages with conflicting page titles is displayed.
      Tree View

      List View
  11. If all pages are in status 'Complete', click Publish.
    (info)You can easily check for Complete status. Click Hide Complete and Scroll Versions displays only pages that are not in status 'Complete'.

    You can publish versions even if not all pages are in status 'Complete'. Check the status carefully or activate the check box Only pages in workflow status "Complete".

The Performing Publishing screen is displayed with a progress bar.


When the publish process is finished, the message 'Successfully published to: [Space Name].' is displayed.

Done! The version of the documentation is published to the remote Confluence system. To see the new space, click the space name.