When you Save a version of a document, you're saving a snapshot of that document's page structure and content at a certain point in time. You can use the versioning feature to version multiple pages as a single unit – for example, to track changes to documents throughout the document lifecycle or archive / freeze a certain state.

Save a version in the Viewer

To save a version of this document, click the actions menu ••• in the viewer and select Save a version:

Now, assign the version a name, optionally add a comment, and click Save.

The new version will appear in your Version History below the current working version of the document. Each saved version also contains a date, time stamp, and the name of the user who saved the version: 

Now that this version is saved, you can compare this version to the current working version or any future version of the document by clicking through the version history. 

Updating Document Versions 

All updates to a document will be reflected in the current working version only. To edit a previous version of the document, open the version in the Confluence page tree by clicking the actions menu ••• > Open in pages. You can then edit the content to the pages with your standard Confluence edit workflow.