If you have documents that you don't want or need any more, you can delete them.
What content gets deleted when I delete a document?
When you delete a document, you delete:
- all metadata about that document (meaning that the document is completely removed from all screens in Confluence)
- all document versions (including all their content)
However, you can decide whether you delete only the document metadata or the document metadata and its associated Confluence pages. If you delete only the document metadata, then the document will be removed from the overview and will not be recognized as a document in Confluence anymore. When you delete the document and its associated pages, then all Confluence pages associated with that document will also be deleted.
Delete a document from the Viewer
To delete the document in the Viewer, click the actions menu •••, then click Delete document:
In the Delete document dialogue, you can decide whether you delete only the document metadata or the document metadata and its associated Confluence pages.
Delete a document from the Overview
To delete a document in the overview, select the document you want to delete in order to open the details view. From the details view, select the actions menu ••• then click Delete document:
Follow the same steps as above for deleting the document in the dialog.