If you have documents that you don't want or need any more, you can delete them.

What content gets deleted when I delete a document?

When you delete a document, you delete:

  • all metadata about that document (meaning that the document is completely removed from all screens in Confluence)
  • all document versions (including all their content)

However, you can decide whether you delete only the document metadata or the document metadata and its associated Confluence pages. If you delete only the document metadata, then the document will be removed from the overview and will not be recognized as a document in Confluence anymore. When you delete the document and its associated pages, then all Confluence pages associated with that document will also be deleted. 

Delete a document from the Library

To delete a document in the library, go to the card of the document you want to delete. From the card view, select the actions menu • then click Delete


In the Delete document dialogue, you can decide whether you delete only the document metadata or the document metadata and its associated Confluence pages.