Please note, read-only here means that un-authorized users won't be able to update the metadata of the version like version title and version comment, nor will they be able to update the content of the underlying pages. However, users will still be able to add pages to the document version if they have space-level permission to create pages.

There are two ways in which you can make your versions 'read-only' using Scroll Documents. You can either make them read-only when you create a new version, or you can do it later by using the Restrictions tool available in the Document Manager. Both approaches are shown below. 

Approach #1: Make a document version read-only while saving a version

  • Follow the steps to save a document version in order to bring up the 'New version' dialog.
  • From the Restrictions drop down, make sure to select Set custom restrictions, and then click Next
  • In the next step, uncheck Can edit pages and Can edit metadata.

  • Now, you can click Save and the version will only be edited by you.

Approach #2: Use the Scroll Documents Restrictions Tool

If you need to make a version read-only after it has been created, you can set edit restrictions on your versions using the Edit Restrictions option for the respective versions in the version history screen. Follow the instructions mentioned in How to manage Document Restrictions.