Manage restrictions for your document and each of your document versions. You have control over who can view and edit pages in the version page trees, and update version details like workflow statuses.

There are a few different restrictions you can apply to a document and its versions. These are:

Restriction

Description

Can view

If set, then for the selected versions the user/group will be able to:

  • View the version in the Version History Table

  • View the version in the Document Reader (accessible via the version switcher)

  • View all the pages in the version’s page tree

Can edit pages

If set, then for the selected versions the user/group will be able to:

  • Edit all the pages in the page tree

Can edit metadata

If set, then for the selected versions the user/group will be able to:

  • Edit version details like version name and description

  • Update the workflow status

If set for the working version versions, then the user/group will be able to:

  • Edit the document title from edit details in the Document Manager

  • Edit the document summary from edit details in the Document Manager

  • Edit document labels from edit details in the Document Manager


If any user or group is permitted to view a version, they are able to add new pages to the version as well.

To prevent a user or group from adding pages to any version, revoke Add page permissionsusing Confluence’s space permission.

Manage Restriction of the Working and all Saved Versions of the Document

Navigate to the Document Manager

  • Click Scroll Documents from the Apps section in your space sidebar.

  • From the Document Library, click the document card of a document.

Or

  • From a page in a document, click Document toolbox and click the cog icon.

Navigate to restrictions

  • For the version you want to update, in the version history table click the lock icon in the Actions column.

  • A dialog will open up.

Select restrictions

  • Select the restrictions you want to apply to groups or individuals. You can choose a combination of these options to manage restrictions of your documents.

Restrict a Document to Specific Users or Groups

You can keep certain individuals or groups from modifying a document.

  • Start by revoking permissions for 'Everyone' by deselecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  • Use the user picker to add specific users or groups.
  • Assign the user or group-specific restrictions by selecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  • You can do this by deselecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  • When your settings are ready, click Save.