×

You're using an outdated browser

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest version.

Manual

Collaborative editing: how should I work with the editor's draft and publish functions?

Roman Serazhiev

Roman Serazhiev Last update: Jul 6, 2018

Question

When collaborative editing is activated, when I have finished editing a page, I can either publish changes I have made, or save them as a draft. Is there a particular way of using these functions that works best when working with Scroll Versions?

Answer

The solution

If you publish with Scroll Versions to deliver your content, (for example if you are taking the public master space or private master space approaches to content delivery) then you can use the editor's publishing function to save your changes, and they still will not be publicly visible until you have published with Scroll Versions.

Therefore, we recommend to save all changes using the editor's publish function, and not to use the keep draft feature at all. This way, you can avoid a large build up of drafts of pages in different versions, while still keeping your working changes private.

Background information

When using collaborative editing, if you save your changes as a draft, the draft version indefinitely lives on in your 'drafts page' ready for you to resume editing at a later date. This means that drafts and published versions of pages can coexist for a long time – each with different content.

When you combine the draft mechanism with the different versions of a page Scroll Versions manages, it can become very difficult to keep track of the many differing versions and drafts that can rapidly accumulate.

2x3.11
We use cookies to create a secure and effective browsing experience for our website visitors and to understand how you use our site (i.e. Google Analytics). For more information: click here.
Ok