×

You're using an outdated browser

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest version.

Manual

Publish a Version

Roman Serazhiev

Roman Serazhiev Last update: Jul 19, 2018

Pages managed with Scroll Versions are available only to people involved in the documentation process unless/until the version is published. When you publish, you can either preview your publish to see what's new (similar to the compare versions function) or skip the preview and publish directly (which is ideal for making small changes, for example).

There are four methods for publishing content with Scroll Versions – you can publish

Publish to a new space

This approach is recommended if you want to have every version of your documentation available under a unique URL in a separate space. With this approach, you work in a private master space restricted to your internal Authors. Readers cannot access this space; they access your published information in its own space.

Publish within the same space

This approach is recommended if your product is only available in one version at any given time (such as a SaaS offering), and all your readers need access to the same version. Work in a public master space, publish the most recent version of your documentation to the same space, and archive the previous version. This way, the most recent version of your documentation will always be available under the same URL.

Publish to an existing space

This approach is a combination of the previous two, allowing you to have your documentation available under a single URL and still work in a private space. Every time you publish a new version, you publish it to the same space as before. This has two benefits:

  • You can add additional pages in the target space, and they won't be impacted by publishing from the master space.
  • You can update content in the source space and publish it to the target space.

To make sure it updates the correct content, Scroll Versions will match pages from the master space and the target space using an internal ID. If it detects a matching ID, it will publish the new version to the target space as a page revision. If there is no matching page in the target space, it will instead publish the new version as a new page in the target space. This also allows you to reorder pages in the target space freely, without needing to do so in the master space.

Info

It is currently not possible to publish to existing spaces where Scroll Versions is active (see VSN-2054 ).

Publishing options

When publishing, you have an array of options to select from:

  • When publishing to a new space, you can
    • copy all page and space labels
    • keep the original authors/creation dates/modification dates
    • keep the permalinks, and
    • publish only "complete"-status pages
  • When publishing to the same space, you can
    • copy the labels
    • keep the original authors and dates
    • remove historical/deleted attachments and publish only current attachments, and
    • publish only pages with the "complete" status.
  • When publishing to an existing space, you can do all of the above, as well as publish the hierarchy.

Publishing "complete"-status content

If you have the Workflows functionality enabled, you can configure Scroll Versions to publish only pages in the "complete" status, and to publish child pages in the "complete" status (only available when publishing to a new space).

Only the first checkbox activated

Checkbox Activated Result

Only pages in workflow status "Complete"

yes
  • All parent pages in workflow status 'Complete' are published.
  • If a parent page is not in status 'Complete', no child pages of this page are published (the status of the child pages will have no effect)

Publish child pages in the workflow status "Complete"

no

Example

  Click here to expand...

The following example should explain the functionality ((tick) is 'Complete', (error) is not 'Complete'):

Before publish After publish
  • Home (tick)
    • Parent 1 (tick)
    • Parent 2 (error)
      • Child 21 (tick)
      • Child 22 (error)
      • Child 23 (tick)
    • Parent 3 (tick)
  • Home
    • Parent 1
    • Parent 3

Both checkboxes activated

Checkbox Activated Result

Only pages in workflow status "Complete"

yes
  • All pages that are in workflow status 'Complete' are published.
  • If a parent page is not in status 'Complete' all child pages in status 'Complete' are published and placed in the next higher hierarchy level.

Publish child pages in the workflow status "Complete"

yes

Info

If all pages are in status 'Complete', you have to activate the checkbox Publish hierarchy in your publish settings to have the same page hierarchy and sequential order in your source and target space.

Example

  Click here to expand...

The following example should explain the functionality ((tick) is 'Complete', (error) is not 'Complete'):

Before publish After publish
  • Home (tick)
    • Parent 1 (tick)
    • Parent 2 (error)
      • Child 21 (tick)
      • Child 22 (error)
      • Child 23 (tick)
    • Parent 3 (tick)
  • Home
    • Parent 1
    • Child 21
    • Child 23
    • Parent 3

Publish hierarchy

 When publishing a version to an existing space, you can choose to publish the hierarchy of your source space to your target space. 

Note

Be aware that ticking this checkbox will affect the page hierarchy in your target space. If you want to keep your target space's hierarchy, do not activate the Publish hierarchy box.

When you publish with this option enabled, your target space's hierarchy will be changed to match your source space's hierarchy. There will be a new item in the preview that indicates a page and its siblings have been reordered.

If you publish to an existing space without publishing the hierarchy, new pages will always be saved as the last page in your page tree:

Source Space
Target Space
Result after publish hierarchy
  • Home
    • Child 1
      • Child 11
  • Home
    • Child 11
  • Home
    • Child 11
    • Child 1

Publish hierarchy with missing parent in the target space

If you publish only parts of the source space, the hierarchy published in the target space will be as close to the original as possible:

Source Space
Target Space
Result after publish hierarchy
  • Home
    • Child 1
      • Child 11 (not published)*
        • Child 111 (not published)
          • Child 1111
  • Home
    • Child 1111
  • Home
    • Child 1
      • Child 1111

*Not Published means the page was created in the source space after last publishing to target space.

As soon as an additional ancestor is published (e.g. Child 111), its child pages (e.g. Child 1111) are moved beneath it, replicating the original hierarchy as closely as possible.

Publishing hierarchy with existing pages in the target space

If the target space has pages that only exist there (not in the source space), the existing page will appear after the pages published from the source space:

Source Space
Target Space
Result after publish hierarchy
  • Home
    • Child 1
    • Child 2
    • Child 3
  • Home
    • Child 2
    • Child 1
    • Child in target only
    • Child 3
  • Home
    • Child 1
    • Child 2
    • Child 3
    • Child in target only
Source Space
Target Space
Result after publish hierarchy
  • Home
    • Child 1
      • Child 11
  • Home
    • Child 11
    • Child in target only
  • Home
    • Child 1
      • Child 11
    • Child in target only
Source Space
Target Space
Result after publish hierarchy
  • Home
    • Child 1
    • Child 2
    • Child 3
  • Home
    • Child 1
    • Child in target only
    • Child 3
  • Home
    • Child 1
    • Child 2
    • Child 3
    • Child in target only
2x3.9
We use cookies to create a secure and effective browsing experience for our website visitors and to understand how you use our site (i.e. Google Analytics). For more information: click here.
Ok