This troubleshooting article provides step-by-step guidance for how to troubleshoot the publishing preview warning: "Original Page X is dirty (modified)!"
You are about to publish a version with new content and get the following warning when you click Preview before publishing:
Original Page Introduction is dirty (modified)!
This warning typically appears when publishing a version containing previously published pages. If the page in the target space or Public view (for same-space publishing) has manual changes to it (for example, content has been manually added or deleted), it will be overwritten during the publish.
Follow these steps to address the warning:
Go to the pages mentioned in the warning.
Decide if the manual changes should be integrated into the versioned pages in the target space or in the Author view (for same-space publishing).
Apply relevant changes.
Re-run the publishing preview to ensure the changes are added.
To prevent this warning from appearing the future keep the following in mind:
To avoid this warning in the future:
When publishing to existing space: Advise authors to add new changes only to versioned pages in the author space.
When publishing to the same space: Encourage users to make changes to pages in the Author view rather than the Public view.