You can use the following steps to split a versioned source space (Space A) into two spaces. The two resulting spaces are 'Space A' (the source space without the content you want to split off into Space B) and 'Space B' (a space containing the pages you didn't need any more in Space A).

Limitations of this workaround

This method is an unofficial workaround, so it has several important limitations:

  1. In this process, you will publish the spaces you don't want in Space A any more to another space, then delete those pages from Space A. The published pages in Space B will lose all their page history that they had in Space A, and all attachments on all previous page versions will also be lost. Before beginning this process, make sure that this is suitable for your use case.
  2. Links between Spaces A and B will not work in either direction. 'Links' in this context include page references as used in include page macros, include+ macros or any other macro referring to a page within Confluence.

Step-by-step instructions

Make sure you follow these instructions exactly as they are laid out here. Because if you miss certain steps (such as forgetting to make a space backup), your data may be lost.

  1. Restrict space A so only you can make changes to it. This is important because it lets you avoid inconsistencies.
  2. Create an XML export of space A as a backup. Choose the full export option.
  3. Create a new 'Space B' and set up permissions in a way that only you have edit access.
  4. Publish all the pages required in Space B to Space B. This may mean publishing a certain version or variant, or all pages.
    Make sure you use the following options when publishing:

  5. Create an additional, temporary space to be used as a trash bin.
  6. When you published to Space B, you may have published some pages that you don't need any more. Now, move these pages to the 'trash bin' space. The advantage of moving to a separate space is that the move action takes all children of a page with it. Whereas deleting a page only deletes the page itself, and leaves the children.
  7. In Space A, delete all pages not required any more using option Remove page and all its versions. Unfortunately, you have to do this for each page individually. There's no option to bulk delete versioned pages.
  8. Delete the 'trash bin' space.
  9. Activate Scroll versions for Space B by creating a version called 'initial', and then create another version following 'initial', with the actual name of the first version you want to use.
  10. Put an edit restriction on the version 'initial' to stop the pages being edited.
  11. Configure permissions in Space B as required for regular editing. You can now start to work in Space B on the first version following 'initial'.
  12. Modify space permissions to allow regular work in Space A.