×

You're using an outdated browser

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest version.

Manual

Write content

Roman Serazhiev

Roman Serazhiev Last update: Oct 29, 2018

Once Scroll Versions is active in your space, the UI will have the following new elements. Depending on the activated modules, the displayed elements might differ, or might be greyed-out.

Version Picker

Version Picker is a dropdown that allows to select your working version. This working version is then applied to the whole space, including the page tree. When browsing through the space, it will open all pages in the selected version. The Version Picker will only be displayed for users in one of the Scroll Versions roles.

Scroll Versions Menu

Scroll Versions Menu is where you'll find all space-related actions, including publishingcomparing versions or spaces, and switching to the Public View. You can also check which pages have been changed in a given version using the Content in Version Report. The Scroll Versions Menu will also be displayed for your readers, but only with the options to compare versions and spaces.

Scroll Versions Dropdown

Scroll Versions Dropdown is where page-related actions are stored. For example, you can compare page versions, convert a page to be unversioned, reschedule or delete pages here. The Scroll Versions Dropdown will only be displayed for users in one of the Scroll Versions roles.

Variant Picker

If Variant Management is enabled, you can use the Variant Picker dropdown to select the variant to be displayed. You can read more about variants here.

Page Byline

Page Byline includes information about the current page, such as the page's version information and (if enabled) its workflow state. If the workflow management is activated, Scroll users can change the page status. The Page Byline will only be displayed for users in one of the Scroll Versions roles

Authoring in Scroll Versions

Writing content in Scroll Versions is similar to writing in Confluence normally, but there are a few key differences. First of all, you should always ensure you have the version you wish to edit selected in the Version Picker before performing any actions. When you perform any actions, they will be applied to the working version you've selected. If variant management is enabled, you can also select which variant to display from the variant dropdown.

When you add a page you can select which version to add it to. When you edit a page, your edits are applied to the selected version and all subsequent versions that use it as a fallback (see the Glossary). If you want to make pages conditional, see Make Pages Conditional, and if you want to make paragraphs or individual sentences conditional, see How to Use the Conditional Content Macro.

For more details on authoring in Scroll Versions, see Intro to Version Management.

Best practices with collaborative editing

When collaborative editing is activated, you should use the save as draft function as little as possible.

2xlatest
We use cookies to create a secure and effective browsing experience for our website visitors and to understand how you use our site (i.e. Google Analytics). For more information: click here.
Ok