Learn how to review and transition your Scroll Viewport content into Scroll Sites.
Why Upgrade?
Scroll Viewport is evolving into Scroll Sites. While the Viewport app retires on September 30, 2026, your live content is completely safe. We’ve designed a seamless, guided upgrade process to move your active sites to their new home with zero downtime.
What if I don't upgrade by the deadline? We’ve got you covered. Any sites still running on Scroll Viewport on September 30 will automatically transition to Scroll Sites. However, stepping through the upgrade wizard today keeps you in control – giving you the flexibility to review custom settings, manage your domain transfer, and delete old test sites on your own schedule.
As of June 2026, it is no longer possible to update existing Scroll Viewport sites.
Scroll Viewport will reach its end of life on September 30th, 2026.
The following articles will you guide through the review and upgrade process between the two apps:
-
Timeline – Upgrade from Scroll Viewport to Scroll Sites See the milestones for the September 30 transition. Your live sites will remain unaffected as we phase out Viewport – learn what happens when.
-
Automatically Upgrade a Scroll Viewport Site To a Scroll Site Learn how our automated upgrade tool transfers your existing sites with zero downtime.
-
Delete Any Unused Scroll Viewport Site Delete any Scroll Viewport site that you no longer use (e.g it was set up as a testing site or is already upgraded to Scroll Sites).
-
Viewport to Scroll Sites: Upgrade FAQ This FAQ answers recurring upgrade questions and highlights practical checks that are easy to miss.
What Does the Upgrade Process Look Like?
The upgrade process to Scroll Sites involves replicating each of your existing Scroll Viewport sites as a new Scroll site. This new Scroll site will then eventually replace your existing Viewport site.
-
Upgrade your existing Viewport site to a Scroll site
-
Review upgrade of your site and adjust settings
-
Transfer your domain and site access settings
-
Complete the upgrade to Go Live with your site
-
Delete upgraded site from Scroll Viewport
The site upgrade process itself is automated but needs to be initiated by you manually per existing Scroll Viewport site. For that, we provide you with a handy upgrade wizard that lists out all sites to be upgraded and lets you start the upgrade for your sites or delete any unused or already replicated Viewport sites.
Upgrading from Scroll Viewport to Scroll Sites for Confluence
Watch the recording for a walkthrough of the Viewport-to-Scroll Sites upgrade process, a tour of new capabilities in Scroll Sites, and answers from our team.
Decide Whether to Delete or Upgrade a Viewport Site in Scroll Sites
Within the Scroll Sites app, we display all Viewport sites that can be upgraded in Scroll Sites for a faster, more flexible, and modern publishing experience. For a better overview, we also include a total count of all the sites.
Review existing Viewport sites
To start, go through the list and decide site-by-site whether you want to proceed with the upgrade process:
-
Open the Confluence sidebar.
-
Expand the menu item Apps.
-
Select Scroll Sites. You will land in the My sites screen where you’ll see a purple box stacked on the very top.
-
Hover over the first site listed in the box and either click Site not needed or Upgrade site.
The upgrade process is a great opportunity to review the sites that are not in active use. For more information, see Delete Any Unused Scroll Viewport Site.
Upgrade a Viewport site to Scroll Sites
Clicking Upgrade site will create a copy of the Scroll Viewport site in Scroll Sites. The original site stays active in Scroll Viewport until you mark the upgrade as complete and delete the site from Viewport.
Select Upgrade site if this is a site that you are using productively, e.g. you make regular updates to it, it’s receiving regular traffic or you are still building it out.
Initiating the site upgrade process won’t disrupt the availability of your Viewport site.
Your new Scroll site will be created in unpublished state at the start using a temporary domain, so you can revise the site before connecting your domain, going live and deciding to take your Viewport site offline.
Site not needed
Clicking Site not needed will delete your Viewport site and all its configuration permanently.
Choose Site not needed if this is a site that you no longer use in Scroll Viewport, e.g it was set up as a testing site in the first place, is already upgraded to Scroll Sites or is for any other reasons no longer needed.